November 6, 2008

November 6, 2008

November 6, 2008

I was planning on going to sleep early last night, until I heard about the large No On Eight protests taking place throughout the city.   An art major named Grace and I were having dinner after the Rachel Whiteread lecture (which I more or less stayed awake through) and we decided to try and find more people and head over there.  I called Beverly to see if she wanted to come / to make sure that I would still have a place to sleep after… she had too much work to do, but said anytime was fine and that if she fell asleep my call would wake her up anyways.  Grace, art-Jackie, and I went to the protest for a few hours, which was simultaneously amazing and heartbreaking.  It was definitely one of the few times I have really been in love with this city.

Beverly was pretty hilarious when I showed up and I had my suspicions that she had been asleep; her answer when I asked if I had woken her up was something to the effect of a noncommittal “unghh.”  She had made me up a bed on the couch, complete with a bottle of water–after yelling for three hours my throat was killing me and it was really thoughtful of her.  We didn’t talk much, but she texted me today apologizing for being groggy and unhelpful.  It was so perfect because that is exactly the kind of message that I send to people all the time and I would have almost certainly sent one to Christi yesterday if I had any way of contacting her; the whole situation reminded me of me, which is fun.  Beverly also apologized that I had to sleep on the couch, which was kind of confusing as I’m not sure where she thought I wanted to sleep… maybe she just wanted to clarify to avoid any awkward confusion?

The floors at Beverly’s are incredibly creaky, so walking to the bathroom to brush my teeth and getting up to leave this morning proved quite the challenge.  I tried to move as silently as possible, not wanting to wake anyone up / make them wonder if I was just wandering about the apartment… it probably looked hilarious, stepping lightly in the dark while cursing to myself under my breath.  I was just praying the bedroom door wouldn’t open, as I already felt bad for getting there so late in the first place.

Sleeping was fine, despite dreaming about my tooth falling out the entire time.  It’s kind of ridiculous how much I think about it and every time I brush my teeth it becomes a paramount concern.  I also realized that the ink on my hand (I keep copious notes there) might bleed onto the leather couch, so my last few conscious moments were spent licking the back of my hand and scrubbing with my thumb; I then sucked the ink off my thumb.  I try to keep it classy.

I didn’t see Beverly in the morning because of early work, but we’ve been texting back and forth and I think I’m going to see if she’s interested in coming to the No On Eight rally today in front of the LDS Temple, which is where I’m about to head off to after grabbing lunch.  I’m so shaky that I can barely type because of coffee on no breakfast and I think the need for me to take better care of myself is finally sinking in.  My hips are still incredibly sore and my throat feels like it’s on fire as well, combined with my skin breaking out worse than it has since high school.

Oh, there is another really interesting part of trying to match schedules with my hosts’ that I have yet to expound upon and have recently become overwhelmingly aware of.  We always reach a point in the conversation where I have to ask what their plans are so I can adjust accordingly, as they are the ones who are actually in control of the spaces that I will be occupying.  It is almost always at least mildly awkward.  Take Beverly yesterday for example… after asking what she had planned for the evening, there was a long pause where I felt like she was probably trying to ascertain whether or not I was trying to include myself in her plans.  She slowly responded that she was doing homework all night, to which I quickly and probably over zealously made it clear that I was just asking because I could come over anytime and wanted to know when she would be around.  Beverly then told me she had a TV I could use, but she didn’t have time to entertain me… confirming the suspicion that she had been worried she may have signed up for more than just letting me crash on her couch.  It’s happened so many times that I’m just starting to find it immensely humorous.

2 Responses to “November 6, 2008”

  1. erbear Says:

    fyi… there were numerous points in this entry where i actually LOLed. that’s all. gotta go to class. glad to here there are protests on prop 8 down there, i am going to a march on friday from city hall down market street to the castro where we will ultimately end up in dolores park. that probably doesn’t mean anything to you, but it will be an amazing experience.

  2. erin Says:

    omg i wrote “here” instead of “hear.” how embarrassing.


Leave a Reply

